Rabu, 30 Juli 2008

Why does google ban you?

Google banned you? is this your 3rd account or more than that? here i ve given reasons on what basis google bans you.

For new users.., (got banned for first time)

1. Invalid clicks

If you click all the ads and open and close it, before the ad page opens, it is invalid clicks.

Eg, if you click all the four links in skyscrapper ad and close it before the ad page opens,

In this case you are paid nothing. But you are registered in google fault vaults, by which they may ban you at any time..

2. Fraud clicks

If clicks done are more than 3 from single system, or you click your own ads, it come under fraud clicks and so you will be banned

3. Click through rate

Generally google expects 1 click from you site for 100 impressions. So it has a reporting field called CTR. If it is maintained between 1-10, you encounter no problem. Else all earnings are returned to providers itself and thus ban you.

It is good practice to maintain CTR between 4.5 to 7.5

What is more Important in CTR
Many may think that finally when reviews your CTR should be below 10. So after considerable amount of clicks, they will try to reduce it. This is stupid thing. Google does reviews on all days. So your CTR for all days should be maintained in same range.

4. Referrals

No one knows about it. This is also the main criteria for banning of your account. If you ve placed any Referral ads in your site, and if any one has clicked it and filled wrong information, google assumes that this is done by your cause and bans you.

Note: Even unknown users fills wrong information, only you will be caught. So it s better to place minimum amount of referral ads in your site


ACCOUNT BANNED EVEN AFTER YOU VE FOLLOWED ALLTHESE
Your account got banned even after following all these.. Then definitely it must not be your first account. Here i ve given you the reasons why you ve been banned.

Reasons
1. Your created account contains already existing adsense users address(ie two account)
2. Your account contains address which is already banned.
3. Clicks are done from only specific ips.

Making Google Adsense Work For You

If you have been online for quiet some time you might have noticed those tiny ads on many websites with the little "ads by google" notice beneath them.

These ads are called "Adsense", they are paid advertisements and can be a very lucrative income source for the person posting them on his/her website.

Whenever someone visits your website Google displays these ads which are very targeted to your websites content. This is what its all about, since people come to your website with a specific interest Google will display ads reflecting that topic.

That means that any ad that is displayed fits the interest of the person viewing it.Since Google pays you for each click through this can be very lucrative if done right. Here are just a couple of examples on how you can get the most from Adsense.

Focussing on one specific topic helps increase your click throughs because the ads Google displays will be extremely targeted to the topic the person is allready viewing.

For example you could make a website purely on growing flowers. People who visit your website are already interested in gardening and Google will likewise display ads on that topic.

A great tool to check wich keywords might be shown by Google on your website is http://www.about-adsense.com/adsense-web-tool.html

The more targeted Google's ads are the more click throughs you will get and the more you will earn.

Search for the keywords that have the highest bids and optimize your website to them.

When you setup an account at http://www.adwords.com you can use Googles keyword tool to view wich keywords pull the most visitors and how much the advertisers are paying for each click. Some keywords are as much as $100 a click, think of what you earn when you optimize your website to them. Next you optimize your sites content to these keywords, you can do this by either creating content yourself or by using other peoples content like for example articles from third parties wich you can find at for example http://www.ezinearticles.com.

Remember its all about targeted content, the more targeted your content is the more target Google's ads will be and the more clicks you will generate. Have fun!

Erol Alici

Copyright 2005 Erol Alici

About The Author

Erol Alici publishes "Home Based Business Success" an informative newsletter dedicated to supporting people build their online business. If you`re looking for the best opportunities, the latest tips and helpful support from an honest friend in the business then grab your F-R-E-E subscription today at:

http://www.homebasedbusinesssuccess.com or send a blank email to

mailto:newsletter-79@norabots.com you'll be glad you did! http://blog.sellitbuyit.ca

Selasa, 29 Juli 2008

Don't Use The Word 'Ads' - It's A Dirty Word

I want to tell you a secret. Don't tell anyone - unless
you want to forward this email onto another website
owner you know who would benefit from this advice. ;o)

Here's the deal;

The best way to boost your AdSense clickthrough rate is to
stop thinking of the ads as ads. The moment you do this
you start to see the whole thing in a new way.

Think about this logically for a moment. You're surfing on
the Internet and you see something that is unmistakably an
ad. What do you do?

a) Rush over to click on the ad because you love those
things

b) Laugh excitedly at the prospect of being taken away from
the interesting content you're reading

c) Ignore it saying to yourself "that's an ad"

It's c) right? Well I hope it is! But the point is -
people hate ads, we're all suffering from ad-blindness,
ad-avoidance and ad-overload. So what if you could make
your AdSense ads look less like ads and more like helpful
snippets of information?

Woah there Michael! You're scaring me now, what are you
suggesting to me?

All I'm saying is that if you put this theory at the heart
of your mission to build a cash-generating AdSense empire
you will get there before everyone else.

Alright Michael - how can I do this? Give me some examples!

Look, I don't want to give ALL my methods away because I've
saved that for serious, dedicated people who buy the videos
(nudge, nudge!) but here's some tip-ettes;

- Don't use the standard Google colour scheme, it just
screams "I am an ad, hate me and ignore me!"

- Get a picture in your mind of what the most typical ads
look like on the web then create your AdSense ads so that
they are exactly the opposite

- Ads are garish creatures that like to be bright, loud and
stand out in a crowd. We all know this. So making your
AdSense ads exactly the opposite means they can 'sneak under
the radar'

- You've seen a boxing match right? Where's all the action?
In the middle. In the ring. Where are the ads that are
paraded around between rounds? In the ring - the centre of
everyone's attention. Where's the 'action' on each of your
pages? Your ads need to be in the same place.

Let's just be clear about this. I'm not talking about
misleading your visitors. I'm just saying that you need to
have ads that don't look like the standard ads people
expect to see. Obviously your visitors will still know they
are ads because they'll have the 'Ads by Google' text next
to them.

This is not about pulling the wool over visitor's eyes - it's
about creating a browsing experience which makes them feel at
ease rather than on edge.

Senin, 28 Juli 2008

about keywords

I want to talk to you about keywords.

I'll be honest - there's an enormous amount of cr*p
around to do with using keywords to get higher AdSense
earnings so I'm going to set the record straight.


** What Keywords Can And Can't Do

When I first started using AdSense (remember I was pulling
in a poxy $2 per day) I shunned the high paying keyword
lists you see everywhere.

I thought they were a scam. The thing is - although there
are some low-quality ones out there, if you do the research
(and BELIEVE me, I've done that alright) then you can find
lists that are worth TEN TIMES more than people charge for
them.

So how does it all work?

Well, quite simply, what you get paid by Google is
determined by how much advertisers are willing to pay, per
click, for any given phrase. To get paid more you need to
focus on the higher paying phrases so that, on average,
you will get paid more per click.

Is it really that simple?

Well, not quite. You also need to take into account that
just because a certain phrase pays well doesn't mean that
you can get a good search engine ranking for it or that you
can attract any people to your pages who are interested in
it.

That's why I recommend using multiple tools to help you get
the definitive answer on the best phrases to use. (I go
through this in detail in Video 2).

Should I go after high paying phrases regardless of topic?

No siree! This is another big no-no. Don't jump on the
bandwagon unless the phrase is related to what your website
is about and more importantly:

WHAT YOU HAVE A PASSION FOR

Did I just use the word 'passion' in an email about AdSense?
You bet I did!! If you're not passionate about the chosen
theme of your website then this will come across to your
visitors. If you are not passionate about your chosen theme
then you will soon tire of putting in the hours to update
the site and make those big bucks with AdSense!

In a nutshell - find the best phrases for your theme based
on:

- How much they are likely to pay you per click
- What level of competition there is out there for these
phrases
- Your chances of attracting good traffic levels for these
phrases

Minggu, 27 Juli 2008

Big Content Mistakes

Did your Mother ever tell you that 'everything in
moderation is okay'? Well, she was an AdSense genius
that woman!

There is a definite road to disaster with AdSense and
it comes by doing too much of one thing.

1. Don't have a site built purely from your own content.

Why? Because it will take too long to grow lots of pages.
Although unique, quality content is the bees knees if you
ignore other sources of content you are, to quote the
cheese-gurus, 'leaving money on the table'.

2. Don't have a site built purely from other people's
content.

Why? Because you'll have little that's unique on your
site. Every man and his dog tries to borrow other people's
content and use content that already exists elsewhere.
But that doesn't make it right:

"If you do what everybody else does, you'll get what
everybody else gets."

Search engines can frown on duplicate content so if you
use sources of content that are not unique you'll need to
do things to make those pages unique. But the best plan is
not build a site entirely from other people's content

3. Don't have a site built purely of 'synthesized' content.

Why? Because using fancy article-crawling-machines and other
'automatic content machines' will backfire on you eventually.
It might make you some revenue in the short-term but it's
like trying to build a house with bricks but no mortar.

Sure - it's WAY quicker, but I know which house I'd rather
live in and which one is still going to be there in a
year's time..

Kamis, 24 Juli 2008

Google Adsense: How Much Money You Can Make and URL Channels Explanation

How Much Money Can I Make With Google Adsense?

How much do you want to make? How hard do you want to work? And how much time do you want to spend working the Google Adsense program?

These are the questions you must ask yourself in order to answer that question.

Look at it this way: how many business opportunities come your way where the only requirement is hard work and the time it takes to work hard? Not many. Almost any business venture requires some kind of start-up money.

If your total earnings is showing 0.00 after a week, not to worry. Keep reading and learning and working. If however, you’re still showing 0.00 after a month, it may be time to implement some of those optimization tips you’ll find on the Google Adsense Support Site. Play around with the placement of the ads on your site. Consider changing the colors. Look again at the content. Is it interesting?

As with any other business, with the Google Adsense program, the sky is the limit. Work hard. Work smart. Have fun. After all, you’re the boss.

What Are URL Channels and How to Organize Them in Google Adsense

URL Channels allow you to view detailed information about the performance of your Adsense for Content pages.

Suppose you have a blog at writingup.com and you also have a blog at bloggerparty.com. It might be interesting and profitable to track which one is getting more clicks. Log in to your Adsense account and click on Adsense for Content. Scroll down until you see Channels and click on manage channels. You may need to scroll up when the next page loads. Under Manage URL Channels you would type writingup.com and click on Create New Channel. You will immediately see writingup.com in the Active URL Channels dialogue box Now type in bloggerparty.com in the same channel text box and again click on Create New Channel. You now have two channels and you will be able to track your progress on each channel. You can view channel reports from the Advanced Report page under the Reports tab. Choose Adsense for Content, choose the date range and then select the Channels Data radio button. Choose any number of active channels by holding down the CTRL key. Next click on Display Report. It’s as easy as that.

Jumat, 18 Juli 2008

The 5-Step Plan to Success

Once you’re accepted, you want to maximize the opportunity. In this section, we
look at some of the most effective strategies for generating optimum revenue
from the Google AdSense program.

Step 1 - Formatting Ad Blocks

You can let Google decide for you the type of ads that will be displayed on your
webpage, but as the website publisher, you may be in a better position to decide
what ads suit the content of your website and how you would like them displayed.
To the extent possible, whether chosen by Google or you, make the ads seem
like part of the site itself.
Most internet marketing experts believe that the ads on your website have a high
probability of getting clicked if they blend in with the rest of the content of your
web page. Factors such as color scheme, font size and type, and the
appearance of your ad should match your web page. Borders are optional and
we think often you should opt out – why put a box around the ad that says “Hi!
I’m an ad!”?
Also, regardless of other design choices, text links should be blue. Why are text
links blue? For the same reason Henry Ford said of the Model-T “They can have
any color they want so long as it’s black.” They just are.
Though we think text ads are generally better than graphic ads, also known as
image ads, Google does offer them with the program.
Actually, you don’t need to struggle much with whether graphic ads or text will be
better on your pages, as Google’s technology will suggest whether an image ad
or a text ad will be more suitable and which will earn you maximum revenues
(since you earn part of they earn, they have motives to get this mix right).
However, it remains totally up to you whether you wish to run image ads or textbased
ads. You can select only image ads, or text ads or a combination of both
these formats on your entire AdSense account or on one page at a time based
on your discretion.

Step 2 - Ad Placement

“Location, location, location.” It is true in real estate and true in advertising,
including web advertising. Since the “location” of the user is your site already, the
“location” of the ad in this context means on which pages, where on the pages,
and so on. As noted, the less an ad looks like an ad, the more effective it is likely
to be.
Then there are general design and usability factors to consider.
If your webpage is cluttered and you can’t dispense with any content, you may
want to break it down further into sections or more pages to provide easier
reading. This also gives you the potential benefit of placing additional ads.
As noted, we generally recommend text-based ads. However, text-dense sites
may actually do better with image ads. If your site has very few graphics, you
may want to balance it out by putting image-based ads. In the monotony of a lot
of dense written information, image-based ads and graphics provide what’s
called visual relief. This can also prompt clicks.
Where should you put the ads? The chances of your ad getting noticed by the
visitors to your site increases greatly if you place ads as close to the top of your
webpage as possible.
If you choose to place so-called ‘skyscraper’ ads – in magazines these would be
called columns – on the sidebars of your webpage, it would be wise to place
them on the right side of your principal content areas. The reason for this is the
visitor to your page (in most languages) will read from left to right, he or she will
chance upon the ad ultimately, if not consciously then at least out of habit. Their
eyes will go there. From the left, they can visually “skip” the ad when they start
reading next to it.
Your ads should be placed in such a way that it matches the links to other
websites on your site. If you already have a links section on your site, put the
AdSense links in that section or list. This is not dishonest – if it were Google
would not allow it.
Obviously if you have a “most popular” area on your website, such as a page that
is updated daily with some kind of material that people bookmark to revisit often,
place your ad(s) there instead of somewhere else that may get less traffic. For
many websites the home page is not actually the most accessed area. If you
don’t know what the traffic pattern is on your sites, it’s easy to find out – ask your
hosting provider about usage logs.
One more thing: While some affiliate marketing programs encourage host sites to
encourage clicks directly, it is not appropriate to expressly ask your readers to
click on the ads served by the Google programs. Not only is it unprofessional
and arguably unethical, it also annoys people and moreover Google AdSense
actually prohibits any such activity. You can neither directly solicit clicks nor can
you do anything considered deceptive to encourage clicks.
In conclusion, the emphasis is always on quality of content on your web pages.
Good and interesting content makes your site better, more acceptable to Google,
more likely to win with AdSense, and therefore more profitable for you!

Step 3 - Researching Keywords

After you are done choosing the right format and location for your AdSense ads,
don’t sit back and wait for the money to roll in just yet. The next important step is
to choose the right keywords for your web pages. These will influence both who
visits your site, and how AdSense assigns ads to you.
The number one mistake most website publishers make is to constantly choose
high-paying (i.e. expensive!) keywords assuming that it will yield them more
income. While it is tempting to choose such keywords to get higher rankings on
search engines, be prudent when it comes to selecting the right keywords that go
with the AdSense ads that are to be displayed.. Remember the goal here is clicks, not SEO rankings. This is a case where you often do not get what you pay
for.
Consider this scenario. Your webpage talks about wine tasting courses. You
review search phrases and keywords with “wine” in it and you find “wine rack” is
in the top three and available, so you buy it. The corresponding ads also focus on
buying wine racks online, wine storage and building your own wine racks. After a
week when you check on the statistics of your webpage and AdSense account,
you see that you are losing visitors and your income is dipping! The keyword
selection is faulty in this case even though it seemed like a good idea at the time.
Why? The visitors to your webpage were actually looking for wine racks and
have landed on your webpage talking about wine tasting courses instead. The
wine course types want to sign up for the courses, maybe buy a book on wine, or
a wine of the month club. They don’t want to build a wine rack. Think
strategically, not tactically.
Just because a keyword is high paying and is seemingly related, does not mean
it is totally relevant and you need something relevant. Relevance is more
important than value! In the above case, you could have – and should have –
chosen wine tasting tour, wine tasting party, wine tasting event, wine tasting
class, wine tasting school, course tasting wine and so on. You are interested in
relevance more than popularity. Tasting is a match. Racks are not.
Let’s look at some of the ways in which you can research your keywords for
AdSense ads:
You can check out the popularity of various keywords if you already have
an account with Google AdWords. This way you will get an idea of the
popularity of various keywords as well as the cost and returns that entail.
Google AdWords also has a tool known as the AdWords Keywords Tool
which can sometimes help you search for alternate keywords and
variations.
Another tool known as Keyword Analyzer can generate numerous key
phrases that are typed by Internet users in different search engines.Consider getting a WordTracker account. They have an excellent tool that
suggests top 1,000 most popular keywords. This tool can also help you
create a list of relevant keywords for your webpage. You can learn a lot
from a small investment here.
Another great idea is to search for top 100 keywords on 7search
which will
give you an idea of high-paying keywords.
Your clickthrough rate will be boosted tremendously by including the right
keywords in your web copy, of course. Keywords occurring in your ads are
usually highlighted on the search engine results page. This also helps in drawing
additional attention to your ad.
The URL of your webpage is also an integral part of achieving success on
Google AdSense program, as it is on the Web generally. Current wisdom holds
that the keywords in the URL are equally if not more important than the ones
featured in the actual webpage content or in metatags. If you change your
ordinary URL to a keyword rich URL relevant to your market, it is possible to
raise your CTR as much as 200% or more without doing anything else.
Obvious domain names with the keywords that you want might be expensive to
purchase from a broker, but you can also buy used domain names that are no
longer active, often for just a few dollars per year.

Step 4 - Developing Content

Let’s assume you have good ads, good placement, and good traffic.
This step is all about how to tweak your pre-existing content to support the most
effective profitability from your new AdSense program.
One major mistake many web publishers make now is to lard up their pages with
a bazillion keywords for so-called “search engine optimization.” Do not fall into
that trap and clutter your webpage with high-profile buzzwords that do not
contribute to the value of your webpage or the experience of your intended
audience. Remember, we’re focused here on clicks, which means bringing relevant readers to your site and giving them a good experience that puts them in
an inquisitive or buying frame of mind.
As a general rule, all content shifts should make some kind of sense. You may
well be able to make connections between articles on sports, to articles on sports
medicine, to articles on herbal supplements which feature ads for those products.
On the other, a web page on bicycles should not have ads for other kinds of
pumps, if you know what we mean.
Before you decide to add that magic Google AdSense code on any page of your
website, you should have dealt with the following two important steps:
High quality textual content
Ensure that your web pages have enough textual content so that the
AdSense program can set up ads that are relevant to the content on your
pages. If you have very little content, it will be difficult for Google to
determine the focus of your page and end up displaying only public
service ads that do not earn any revenue.
Use different page titles for different pages
Have unique page titles based on the specific content of each page.
Avoid generic or vague page titles such as ‘Untitled Document’ or ‘Page
1’. Be crisp and precise and avoid using long phrases and difficult words
in the page titles. If your page has a very long title, it might get banned
from some search engines, so be pithy.

Step 5 - Tracking and Reports

Tracking the results of your marketing efforts can help you focus your efforts and
make adjustments to win. Google offers a great free tracking feature known as ‘Channels’. You can use
these channels to track ads on specific URLs or to categorize ads based on their
formats, keywords, location on web page and so on.
You can choose from two channel types offered by Google.

URL Channels

This will help you track the performance of your web pages without altering your
ad code. All you need to do to track your performance is to enter a full or partial
URL in the channel and you’re done. A full page URL will track the performance
of the specific page having that address. If you want to track all the pages on a
specific domain, you need to enter a top-level domain name.

Custom Channels

Custom channels are used to track the performance of your webpage based on
the criteria that you specify. You can choose what specific factor you would like
to track and customize the channel according to your requirements.
As the name suggests, custom channels are very flexible, and if you have ever
used any kind of data reporting tool you will find setting them up easy and logical.
You can have up to 50 custom channels!

You can compare the performance of different ad formats and the relevancy of
ads. You can also compare how ads on one page are performing when
compared with ads on other pages. You can do so by assigning each group of
pages to a specific channel and eventually comparing results in your customized
channel reports. You can also see where your clicks are coming from by
assigning a channel to each of your separate pages. Also, it is a good idea to
name your channel in such a way that it is easy to identify different channels in
reports, especially if you are using a dozen or more. Server Logs
In addition to the ‘channel’ program offered by Google to track your AdSense ads
on your web pages, you can also use any of the various high quality external
AdSense tracking software packages to track your performance in greater detail
(except actual revenues – you need to get that from Google). One major
advantage of such software is that it runs locally, which enables you to access
specific information that Google doesn’t track. Be aware that none of these thirdparty
software solutions are “endorsed” by Google currently but most of them
guarantee to operate within AdSense guidelines. Just make sure they do,
because you don’t want to lose your account status over a technical violation by
a third party.
Some of the information you can obtain by using tracking software:
Referring website of all your visitors
The type of web browser they are using
Where the actual ad-clickers are coming from
Search keywords typed in by the visitors to your website that eventually
brought them to you
You should use a combination of Google channels and a reliable AdSense
tracking program so as to get comprehensive information about your AdSense
account.

Senin, 14 Juli 2008

Increase Your Recent Posts and Comments to 10 - Blogger Hack

Before you get too excited and try the tricks in this post, I just wanted to let you know beforehand that it might not work anymore. Several visitors have tried and told me it didn’t work so the result might be the same for you. Blogger continues to make changes without announcing them so hacks and tricks expire which makes it frustrating for everyone. If you’re willing to try and increase your recent posts and comments to 10, then continue reading. I apologize in advance if it doesn’t work for you.

By default, Blogger is very limited in comparison to features or plugins available to WordPress blog users. For example, there are free plugins for WordPress that allow you to show your most recent posts, most popular posts, and most recent comments.

Blogger, on the other hand, doesn’t have that functionality but people have figured out a clever way to do it anyhow. If you haven’t already read our How to Setup Your Recent Posts and Recent Comments Blogger Page Elements then you might want to start there first before reading on.

This article will take Blogger users to the next level and allow you to do things like increase the default max posts from 5 to 10 (or whatever size you want), filter by category, or filter by a date range, etc. It’s actually pretty powerful and I’m happy to share my secrets with you.
How to Increase Your Post Limit

There’s a cool way to increase the number of recent posts showing up in your rss feed widget. All you need to do is add the parameter “?max-results=10” (or whatever number you want to return is) to the end of your existing feed url. So your new feed widget url should look something like this:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/?max-results=10

Pretty cool huh? Now it might not work right away in your feed widget so to make sure it’s working properly is to view it in your browser. Yup, just put it right into your browser window and you’ll see if it’s working properly because trying to troubleshoot it after it’s in your rss feed widget is really tough — especially since it doesn’t always update right away.
Filter Your Post List by Category (Tag, Label)

Say you only want to show a certain list of posts based on category in your rss feed widget. Well, now you can by using the “category” parameter. Here’s what your url would look like:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/-/cure/

I was only able to get this to work with one category but according to the example below, you can filter by multiple categories. If any of you are able to get that to work, please let me know.
Filter Your Post List by a Date Range

If you wanted to restrict your feed results to a certain time frame you can. I can’t think of a good reason for me to personally read this since I always want the latest posts to be listed but the filter is here to use regardless. Here’s an example which will only show posts that were published between 1/16/2008 - 2/28/2008:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/?published-min=2008-01-
16T00:00:00&published-max=2008-02-28T23:59:59

You can also substitute the published-min and published-max with updated-min and updated-max if you wanted to filter by updated dates instead of published dates.
Order By Filter

I actually don’t ever modify this since the default order by filter is lastmodified or createdate which makes the most recent post appear first on the list. If you wanted to change this for some reason you easily could by using the “orderby” filter.
Start Index Filter

This one could be handy if you wanted to skip certain posts and start listing after, say the 1st post. Maybe you have a section where you feature the latest post on your blog and you don’t want it to also show up first in your rss feed. This is the filter you would use. An example of the “start-index” filter would be:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/?start-index=2

This would essentially skip and not show your latest post and post #2 would come up first. Be careful if you do this and later wonder why your first post isn’t show up.
Multiple Parameter Example

You can combine all these filters into one url and really fine tune your results if you wanted to. Let’s say you want to show your 10 most recent posts filtered by the “book” category (label, tag). Your feed url would look something like this:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/-/cure/?max-results=10

Another example would be to show 10 most recent posts filtered by a date range:

http://YOUR-BLOG-NAME-HERE.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default/?published-min=2008-01-
16T00:00:00&published-max=2008-02-28T23:59:59&max-results=10

Here’s a list of all the query parameters you can change for any Blogger rss feed. I wouldn’t worry about the “alt” one but the rest are pretty useful to know.

* alt - the type of feed to return, such as atom (the default) or rss.
* orderby - the order to return entries, such as lastmodified (the default) and starttime.
* max-results - the maximum number of entries to return.
* /category - specifies categories (i.e. labels) to filter the feed results. For example, http://www.blogger.com/feeds/blogID/posts/default/-/Fritz/Laurie will return entries labeled with Fritz AND Laurie.
* updated-min, updated-max - the bounds on entry update dates.
* published-min, published-max - the bounds on entry publication dates.
* start-index - 1-based index of the first result to be retrieved (for paging).

Now that you are familiar with all your rss feed url options, you can really customize your Blogger recent posts and comments sections. Many of you have asked me how to increase your feed limit from 5 to 10 so now you can. In some cases I had to completely delete my recent comments widget and install it again for the filters to correctly work. I’m not sure why but you might run into a similar issue.

50 Great Widgets For Your Blog

Widgets are a great way to add some flare and uniqueness to your blog. Whether you’d like to show your live blog traffic stats or show your visitors which sites have recently linked to your web site, you can do it with widgets.

I recently came across a list of 50 great blog add-ons that are useful or simply just cool widgets and wanted to share it with you. Most of them work with both WordPress and Blogger so it doesn’t matter which blogging platform you use.

Go through the list and pick and choose some new widgets to test drive on your blog. I recommend not overdoing it by dressing up your blog with too many widgets. There’s a fine line of functionality vs clutter and a blog with too many confusing widgets will only deter people from your site.

So check out Mashable’s 50 Great Widgets article and let me know which widgets you like be

Speed Up Your Blogger Page Load Time - Compress Your CSS

You have to admit, most free 3rd party Blogger templates that you download are a mess. You open up the xml file and it’s a long and ugly-looking beast of code spaghetti. If you’re like me, you prefer a nice and neat template (even though you’ll be the only one seeing it) and you’ll want to tidy it up.

Most of the code you don’t want to tinker with but the .css code (the part that styles your entire blog with images and colors) is where some people like to change font colors, sizes, or even just space it out properly so it’s important that it’s not only neatly organized, but also properly aligned.

More importantly, did you know the more lines of code your template has, the longer it takes to load in a browser? So your 1,500 lines of code in your newest Blogger template could really be much shorter in size, thus speeding up page load times for your visitors. The slower your site, the more likely a visitor will be deterred and not wait for it to load up.

So here’s a neat trick to optimize your template. I’ve started doing it with some of the newer templates now being hosted on eBlog Templates. You’ll want to do what’s called “commpress your css” into a much smaller format. There’s a site I use called CSSDrive that offers a free web-based CSS Compressor. All you do is select a few basic options like compression mode and comments handling and then paste in your css. The css is the code between the and tags.

Make sure you backup your template code before doing this! Some people might not like how the css looks after it’s compressed so it’s best to have a backup. You also might make a mistake and copy the wrong sections which could screw up your template code. Bottom-line, backup your template before doing this.

css-compression-options.png

After you click on the “Compress-it!” button it will go through your .css code and shrinks it down. Essentially it removes unnecessary white spaces and better organizes each css element into one line. Here are the results for one of the Blogger templates I compressed.

css-compression.jpg

My xml Blogger template was originally 1,286 lines of code and after the css compression was done, it dropped it down to 914. Now that’s not a huge difference (14%) and you probably won’t notice a difference when you load up your blog with the new code, but every little bit helps. Also, some template code might be messier than others so the size decrease could potentially be a lot more.

I also just ran the normal compression mode and wanted to keep my comments so if you go with the super compact mode and strip out all comments, you can compress it even further.

This tool can be used for WordPress blogs or any other websites actually. Most of the Blogger templates I come across are the ones in need of a code clean up, however. So if you’re ready to give CSS Compression a shot, check out CSS Drive’s free tool and compress away!

How to Display More Targeted AdSense Ads on Your Blog

In the past, your typical blogger would be content enough just having their own blog. But now, bloggers in general are becoming more knowledgeable with ways to monetize their blog and with the availability of free information on the web, they do a decent job.

For example, how many blogs do you read these days that actually don’t have some sort of advertising on it? Not many and for good reason. Why not try and make some money since you spend all this time writing and blogging, right?

Secondly, how many blogs have you come across where the AdSense advertisement is not at all relevant to the blog’s theme or content? Some of them are actually pretty funny if you read the ads. Here’s an ad that actually showed up on eBlog Templates next to one of the template pages.

funny-adsense-ad.png

Can anyone tell my who would be interested in buying “Birds Trees” (what are birds trees anyhow??) from a site that provides templates and other resources for bloggers? Now, if the template page this ad was on was related to nature or birds, then that would be fine. That wasn’t the case though for this page.

Showing irrelevant ads on blogs (especially newer blogs) these days is a pretty common occurrence. New blogs don’t have much (if any) content since their new, so Google isn’t sure what your blog is about. Since eBlog Templates is only a few months old, it’s one of the reasons you’ll see irrelevant ads showing up. After several months and a lot of blog posts later, Google should get a better feel for what your blog is all about and display more targeted ads.

But why not give Google AdSense some guidance now as to what parts of your page it should create these targeted ads from? Well, now you can with Google’s Section Targeting feature.

Google’s Section Targeting allows you to suggest sections of your blog posts and HTML content that you’d like them to emphasize or downplay when matching ads to your site’s content. By providing Google with your suggestions, you can help them improve your blog’s ad targeting.
How Does Section Targeting Work?

It’s actually quite easy and to implement Section Targeting, you’ll need to add a set of special HTML comment tags to your blog template code. These tags will mark the beginning and end of whichever section(s) you’d like to emphasize or de-emphasize for ad targeting.

The HTML tags to emphasize a page section take the following format:





You can also designate sections you’d like to have ignored like your navigation, sidebar, or anything that’s not worth targeting by adding a (weight=ignore) to the starting tag:





Once you add these tags to your WordPress or Blogger template code, you won’t immediately notice a change. There’s actually nothing visual to see as well so don’t expect anything to show up. If you view your blog’s source code from your browser, you’ll see these new tags, however.
How Many Section Targeting Tags Can I Use?

You can use as many Section Targeting tags on a page as you like. However, just because you use several Section Targeting tags doesn’t guarantee you’ll get results. I’d recommend only using one or two on each page otherwise Google might just ignore them.
How Long Before Google Recognizes the Tags?

It can take at least 2 weeks before Google crawlers figure out the changes you’ve made and update your AdSense account. Some sites might not even notice a difference because the ads were already pretty well targeted in the first place.
Setting Up Section Targeting For Blogger

If you’re familiar with editing Blogger templates then this will be a breeze for you. If not, it’s still rather easy to setup since you’re only dealing with two new lines of code. Before anything, make a backup copy of your current template just in case you mess something up. Next, you’ll want to open your template code in something like notepad or any text editor. You can even edit it right in the Blogger html window but it’s small and harder to search for things.

Now you want to search your template for the tag. There should only be one in your entire template. This tag is very important as it prints out your blog posts. It’s the meat of your template code and without it, your blog wouldn’t really work. Next you’ll want to surround this tag with the Google AdSense code. Essentially, we’re telling AdSense whatever text is in your Blogger posts is what it should display relevant ads for.

Here’s what your updated code should look like:





Some people also want to setup Section Targeting for their blog post titles which is fine as well. You basically do the same steps shown here but for the tags. There are usually at least two so make sure you wrap them all if you decide to make this change.

Save your template code and load it back into Blogger. Look at your blog and view the page source. You should now see these Google AdSense tags in your code!
Setting Up Section Targeting For WordPress

For WordPress users, you follow the same steps as above but you’ll want to edit the single.php or index.php page. You’re looking for the tag which is equivalent to the tag for Blogger. Wrap the Google AdSense tags around the content tag and that’s it.

Here’s what your updated code should look like:





Now another trick I do is also wrap my comments with the Google AdSense tags as well. Blog comments are a great way to build up additional relevant content to an existing post. Most of the time your comments are very relevant to your post so why not give AdSense more text to use for ad matching? This works especially well if your blog post is short and you’ve got a lot of comments.

To make this change you’ll want to edit your comments.php file and look for the tag. The modified code should look like this:




Extra Tip - Ignore Sections of Your Blog

For any type of blog you can also use the ignore AdSense tag. This is great for sections that are static or don’t really tell Google much about what your blog is about. Like I mentioned briefly above, this would be things like your top navigation, sidebar, or some other advertisements you may be running on your site which are not relative to your blog’s theme and content.




Important Note

In order to properly implement Section Targeting, you’ll need to include a significant amount of content within the section targeting tags. This means make sure your blog posts are a pretty good length otherwise insufficient content may result in less relevant ads or public service ads and it’s not worth adding these tags. It is also against Google’s AdSense policy to manipulate the ad targeting code to result in ads that are not relevant to the content of your pages. Don’t do it otherwise you risk getting banned from AdSense.

How Many Blogs Do You Have?

In my mind there are three main types of bloggers in the world. The first being a person who wants a simple web page to keep an online diary or personal journal. The second being a business person needing an online presence whose not technical nor wanting to spend a lot of money to design a custom site. And the third and most popular being those looking to try and make money online. My guess is the majority of eBlog Templates readers belong to group number three.

With the ease of setting up a new free blog via Blogger, Typepad, WordPress, Vox, or one of the many others out there, we’re seeing more and more “make money online” blogs and why not? It’s easy to setup and place Google AdSense ads or affiliate banners on your blog or even create eBay affiliate sites and duplicate the process over and over.

Assuming you follow the general blogging rules (unique content, etc) and don’t get banned from Google, you can easily succeed in having dozens if not hundreds of blogs out there. My question is how do you update them all making sure the content is continually fresh and interesting? Do you hire writers to help you post? Are you scraping content from other sites with an automated script? Maybe you’re creating the sites but not updating the content.

So from my experience let me tell you a bit about us. eBlog Templates actually belongs to Niche Blog Media which has over a dozen (and growing) different niche blogs in it’s network. Having to manage all those sites is actually quite tough and the biggest problem we have is lack and frequency of new content. We hire some writers to post daily but it’s honestly tough to find additional people who are looking just to blog.

We’ve posted contracts on eLance but those who responded were asking $20/post for original content. That’s just too much for each blog post. They are of course good writers with original content but there’s a gap not being filled right now. Writers are used to writing sales letters or longer documents which is not the same as blogging really. Blogs need 300-500 word posts on a daily basis but those types of posts don’t pay very much. Who is going to fill this gap and why hasn’t somebody already stepped up?

Having said that, it takes time and patience to build, foster, and grow your blog network. There’s a lot of competition out there and it’s only going to get more difficult.

So since I’ve shared my experiences with you, I’d like to hear how many blogs you have and what’s your ultimate goal? Make money? Create inbound links for SEO? Is it working?

Yaro Starak’s 10 Great Blog Traffic Tips

In every bloggers life comes a special day - the day they first launch a new blog. Now unless you went out and purchased someone else’’s blog chances are your blog launched with only one very loyal reader - you. Maybe a few days later you received a few hits when you told your sister, father, girlfriend and best friend about your new blog but that’’s about as far you went when it comes to finding readers.

Here are the top 10 techniques new bloggers can use to find readers. These are tips specifically for new bloggers, those people who have next-to-no audience at the moment and want to get the ball rolling.

It helps if you work on this list from top to bottom as each technique builds on the previous step to help you create momentum. Eventually once you establish enough momentum you gain what is called “traction”, which is a large enough audience base (about 500 readers a day is good) that you no longer have to work too hard on finding new readers. Instead your current loyal readers do the work for you through word of mouth.
Top 10 Tips

10. Write at least five major “pillar” articles. A pillar article is a tutorial style article aimed to teach your audience something. Generally they are longer than 500 words and have lots of very practical tips or advice. This article you are currently reading could be considered a pillar article since it is very practical and a good “how-to” lesson. This style of article has long term appeal, stays current (it isn’t news or time dependent) and offers real value and insight. The more pillars you have on your blog the better.

9. Write one new blog post per day minimum. Not every post has to be a pillar, but you should work on getting those five pillars done at the same time as you keep your blog fresh with a daily news or short article style post. The important thing here is to demonstrate to first time visitors that your blog is updated all the time so they feel that if they come back tomorrow they will likely find something new. This causes them to bookmark your site or subscribe to your blog feed.

You don”t have to produce one post per day all the time but it is important you do when your blog is brand new. Once you get traction you still need to keep the fresh content coming but your loyal audience will be more forgiving if you slow down to a few per week instead. The first few months are critical so the more content you can produce at this time the better.

8. Use a proper domain name. If you are serious about blogging be serious about what you call your blog. In order for people to easily spread the word about your blog you need a easily rememberable domain name. People often talk about blogs they like when they are speaking to friends in the real world (that’’s the offline world, you remember that place right?) so you need to make it easy for them to spread the word and pass on your URL. Try and get a .com if you can and focus on small easy to remember domains rather than worry about having the correct keywords (of course if you can get great keywords and easy to remember then you’ve done a good job!).

7. Start commenting on other blogs. Once you have your pillar articles and your daily fresh smaller articles your blog is ready to be exposed to the world. One of the best ways to find the right type of reader for your blog is to comment on other people’s blogs. You should aim to comment on blogs focused on a similar niche topic to yours since the readers there will be more likely to be interested in your blog.

Most blog commenting systems allow you to have your name/title linked to your blog when you leave a comment. This is how people find your blog. If you are a prolific commentor and always have something valuable to say then people will be interested to read more of your work and hence click through to visit your blog.

6. Trackback and link to other blogs in your blog posts. A trackback is sort of like a blog conversation. When you write a new article to your blog and it links or references another blogger’’s article you can do a trackback to their entry. What this does is leave a truncated summary of your blog post on their blog entry - it’’s sort of like your blog telling someone else’s blog that you wrote an article mentioning them. Trackbacks often appear like comments.

This is a good technique because like leaving comments a trackback leaves a link from another blog back to yours for readers to follow, but it also does something very important - it gets the attention of another blogger. The other blogger will likely come and read your post eager to see what you wrote about them. They may then become a loyal reader of yours or at least monitor you and if you are lucky some time down the road they may do a post linking to your blog bringing in more new readers.

5. Encourage comments on your own blog. One of the most powerful ways to convince someone to become a loyal reader is to show there are other loyal readers already following your work. If they see people commenting on your blog then they infer that your content must be good since you have readers so they should stick around and see what all the fuss is about. To encourage comments you can simply pose a question in a blog post. Be sure to always respond to comments as well so you can keep the conversation going.

4. Submit your latest pillar article to a blog carnival. A blog carnival is a post in a blog that summarizes a collection of articles from many different blogs on a specific topic. The idea is to collect some of the best content on a topic in a given week. Often many other blogs link back to a carnival host and as such the people that have articles featured in the carnival often enjoy a spike in new readers.

To find the right blog carnival for your blog, do a search at blogcarnival.com.

3. Submit your blog to blogtopsites.com. To be honest this tip is not going to bring in a flood of new readers but it’’s so easy to do and only takes five minutes so it’’s worth the effort. Go to Blog Top Sites, find the appropriate category for your blog and submit it. You have to copy and paste a couple of lines of code on to your blog so you can rank and then sit back and watch the traffic come in. You will probably only get 1-10 incoming readers per day with this technique but over time it can build up as you climb the rankings. It all helps!

2. Submit your articles to EzineArticles.com. This is another tip that doesn’t bring in hundreds of new visitors immediately (although it can if you keep doing it) but it’’s worthwhile because you simply leverage what you already have - your pillar articles. Once a week or so take one of your pillar articles and submit it to Ezine Articles. Your article then becomes available to other people who can republish your article on their website or in their newsletter.

How you benefit is through what is called your “Resource Box”. You create your own resource box which is like a signature file where you include one to two sentences and link back to your website (or blog in this case). Anyone who publishes your article has to include your resource box so you get incoming links. If someone with a large newsletter publishes your article you can get a lot of new readers at once.

1. Write more pillar articles. Everything you do above will help you to find blog readers however all of the techniques I’ve listed only work when you have strong pillars in place. Without them if you do everything above you may bring in readers but they won’t stay or bother to come back. Aim for one solid pillar article per week and by the end of the year you will have a database of over 50 fantastic feature articles that will work hard for you to bring in more and more readers.

I hope you enjoyed my list of traffic tips. Everything listed above are techniques I’ve put into place myself for my blogs and have worked for me, however it’’s certainly not a comprehensive list. There are many more things you can do. Finding readers is all about testing to see what works best for you and your audience and I have no doubt if you put your mind to it you will find a balance that works for you.

This article was written by a guest blogger by the name of Yaro Starak who is a professional blogger and my blog mentor. He is the leader of the Blog Mastermind mentoring program designed to teach bloggers how to earn a full time income blogging part time.

How to Embed Ad Code Anywhere in Your Blogger Template

Have you ever tried to insert javascript ad code directly into your Blogger Template and it just wouldn’t work? Ok, everyone in the room can put their hands down now. This has always been a huge problem for blog authors using Google Blogger looking to monetize their site since almost all ad code contains javascript.

So why is this so darn difficult to do? The problem in the past was that Blogger users wanted more control over where and how frequently their block of ad code (usually AdSense) appeared. The Blogger Team listened to their customers and created an easy to use feature that allows you to setup AdSense in your individual posts with a simple checkbox selection.
Typical Blogger Error Messages

That’s great for most people but the places where you can insert widgets are rather limited and not as flexible as you’d like. So what if you want to put AdSense, AdBrite, Chitika or any other sort of javascript-related code elsewhere on your blog without having to use a widget? The answer in the past would be, “It’s just not easy”.

You would paste the Google AdSense, AdBrite, Chitika or any other javascript ad code into your xml Blogger template only do get an error like:

“Your template could not be parsed as it is not well-formed. Please make sure all XML elements are closed properly. XML error message: The processing instruction target matching “[xX][mM][lL]” is not allowed.”

or another really cryptic error message like:

“Your template could not be parsed as it is not well-formed. Please make sure all XML elements are closed properly. XML error message: The content of elements must consist of well-formed character data or markup.“.

In fact, more recently the Blogger xml parser seems to allow javascript code in your template without displaying an error message at all. You think all is well only to discover when you view your blog that nothing actually gets displayed. Grrr.
Using the Blogger Ad Code Converter

So how can I get around this and easily use ad code or any javascript inside my xml Blogger template? Introducing, the Blogger Ad Code Converter by eBlog Templates. This simple tool will take any block of javascript or html code and replace the characters that Google Blogger ignores with the correct ones. Here’s a real life example. Say I want to put a Google AdSense 468 x 60 banner ad into the header of my blog but there’s no widget to use. You’d have to manually go into AdSense and create a new ad unit to get the code. Here’s the result:




Now if you just pasted that ad unit code directly into your Blogger header you’d get an error or it just wouldn’t work. Most people would think Blogger was broken or wonder if it’s something they did when in fact it’s neither. The new Blogger uses xml which is much more strict and requires certain reserved characters like > < or & to be converted into xhtml entities. Here’s what your ad code needs to look like in order to work properly:

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-6044026340890176";
/* 468x60, created 3/17/08 */
google_ad_slot = "3105157606";
google_ad_width = 468;
google_ad_height = 60;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>

This only took me a few seconds to convert since I used the free and easy Blogger Ad Code Converter. There are actually posts out there that explain how to do this manually but who wants to take the time searching and replacing each character when you can convert unlimited sized ad code blocks with only one click?

After you’ve converted your ad code, paste it into your template and it should now work. Obviously before you make any changes to your Blogger template, it’s a good idea to back it up. You never know when you might make a mistake or revert to a previous version. Once you’ve done that, give the Blogger Ad Code Converter a try for free!
What Other Code Can it Convert?

Actually this tool is quite powerful and can be used for encoding any HTML or javascript into XHTML entities. Some popular javascript ad codes that are converted are AdSense, Text Link Ads, AdBrite, LinkWorth, Chitika, Amazon, and more. Another good use is if you need to post a large block of HTML or javascript code into your blog post you can just use this tool.

Technically, it does so by replacing the reserved HTML characters with their XHTML equivalents. It’s basically a simple HTML Encoder that automatically replaces all HTML special characters like <, >, & into entities <, >, &.

Please note: If you are using this tool to convert Google AdSense code you don’t need to worry about breaking the AdSense program policies. This tools is just encoding reserved HTML characters into usable XHTML entities for xml Blogger. When you paste the code into your blog, save it, and then view the source code for the page, you’ll notice your AdSense code is displaying as it was originally written. This modification will not alter the functionality of the code at all, and ensures that it will be displayed within Blogger correctly.

Senin, 07 Juli 2008

Mau SEO? Tunggu Dulu Bro…

Setiap saat di dunia Internet Marketing, begitu banyak orang yang sering membicarakan ttg SEO atau yang dikenal dengan Search Engine Optimization.

SEO adalah teknik yang digunakan oleh Internet Marketer sehingga situs mereka mendapatkan rangking yang bagus di halaman mesin pencari seperti Google untuk keywords (kata kunci) tertentu.

Harapannya adalah mendapatkan rangking nomor 1 - 10 sehingga situs mereka bisa tampil di halaman pertama Google.

Contoh: Anda mentargetkan keywords “lose your weight”. Berarti ketika ada orang yang mengetik “lose your weight” di Google dan klik “search”, anda mengharapkan rangking situs anda di 10 besar untuk keywords tsb.

Ga heran juga sih ya mengapa topik ini selalu ramai di bahas. Wong situs kalau ga ada pengunjung kan percuma. Kalau bisa tampil di halaman pertama Google kan enak, berarti bisa dapat pengunjung dari Google tanpa harus membayar sepeserpun :)

Siapa sih yang ga mau dengan Free traffic?

Namun sebelum anda melakukan SEO terhadap situs anda, ada beberapa hal yang perlu anda pertimbangkan terlebih dahulu:

1. Apakah keywords yang anda targetkan ada yang mencarinya?

Percuma kan kalau anda sudah susah payah melakukan SEO untuk keywords yang anda targetkan, tapi ternyata tidak ada orang yang mengetik keywords tsb di Google.

Atau walaupun ada yang mengetiknya, jumlahnya sangat sedikit.

Saya menjelaskan bagaimana anda bisa memprediksi seberapa populer keywords yang anda targetkan di Gratis report saya “1 Juta Rupiah Pertama Anda Lewat Internet” pada halaman 9.

2. Apakah keywords yang anda targetkan punya banyak pesaing?

Semakin banyak pesaing anda, semakin sulit untuk situs anda tampil di halaman pertama Google. Semakin sedikit pesaing anda, tentunya semakin mudah untuk situs anda tampil di halaman pertama Google.

Sebaiknya anda mentargetkan keywords yang halaman pesaingnya di bawah 50.000.

Apa maksudnya?

Kembali ke contoh di atas, misalnya anda pergi ke Google dan mengetik “lose your weight” (dengan tanda kutip):

1.JPG

Gambar di atas menunjukkan keywords “lose your weight” mempunyai 62.400 halaman pesaing.

Saya menyarankan anda mentarget keywords yang halaman pesaingnya di bawah 50.000 sehingga situs anda lebih mudah tampil di halaman pertama Google.

Mungkin anda menanya mengapa menggunakan tanda kutip “” ketika mencari informasi di Google?

Coba kita lihat ya apa yang terjadi apabila anda mengetik keywords tanpa menggunakan tanda kutip:

2.JPG

Halaman pesaing tiba-tiba melonjak menjadi 2.630.000

Lho koq bisa?

Kalau anda pakai tanda kutip, artinya anda mau mencari keywords “lose your weight” dengan urutan kata pertama “lose”, kata kedua “your”, dan kata ketiga “weight”. Artinya situs yang mempunyai keywords “your weight loss” atau “weight your lose” tidak akan muncul di halaman pencarian Google.

Kalau anda tidak pakai tanda kutip, artinya asal situs-situs yang mempunyai kata “lose”, “your”, dan “weight” (tanpa harus ada urutan posisi tertentu) akan muncul di halaman pencarian.

3. Apakah situs anda ada content yang bermanfaat dengan jumlah yang cukup oke?

Kalau situs anda kosong (tidak ada content sama sekali) atau contentnya sedikit sekali, sebaiknya anda mengisi situs anda terlebih dahulu sebelum melakukan SEO untuk mendatangkan traffic.

Mengapa?

Karena ketika pengunjung datang dan lihat situs anda kosong atau hanya mempunyai sedikit content, mereka akan berpersepsi (walaupun belum tentu benar) bahwa situs anda adalah situs “newbie”.

Mereka akan pikir seperti: “wah ini situs koq ga ada isinya ya, pasti baru dibuat dan pasti si pemilik situsya masih newbie nih, mending gue searching situs lain aja”…

Ya kurang lebih seperti itu lah, you know what I mean :P

Selain jumlah content, perhatikan juga kualitas contentnya. Percuma kan jumlah content anda 1000 halaman, tapi isinya tidak berkualitas atau berbobot.

Anda sudah susah payah melakukan SEO dan mendapatkan pengunjung, tetapi karena situs anda kosong/hampir kosong dan tidak berkualitas, pengunjung akhirnya kabur dari situs anda dan tidak akan kembali lagi :sad:

4. SEO bukan segalanya

SEO memang penting dan bisa memberikan pengunjung ke situs anda secara gratis, tapi SEO bukan segalanya.

Saya pertahikan di berbagai forum dan banyak situs yang sepertinya “men-dewakan” SEO seakan-akan untuk mendatangkan pengunjung hanya bisa lewat satu cara, yaitu SEO.

SEO hanyalah salah satu cara di sekian banyak cara untuk mendatangkan pengunjung ke situs anda. Masih ada banyak cara mendatangkan pengunjung seperti yang telah saya bahas di post sebelumnya.

Kesimpulannya adalah: sebelum anda melakukan SEO terhadap situs anda, sebaiknya memikirkan keempat hal di atas, yaitu:

- Pastikan keywords yang anda targetkan ada pencarinya

- Sebaiknya keywords yang anda targetkan mempunyai halaman pesaing di bawah 50.000

- Isilah situs anda dengan content yang bermanfaat dengan jumlah yang cukup oke

- Sadarlah SEO hanya salah satu cara mendatangkan pengunjung ke situs anda, dan masih banyak cara untuk mendatangkan pengunjung

3 Sebab Mengapa Pemula Internet Marketing Gagal

Apabila anda telah atau akan berkecimpung di dunia Internet Marketing, tentunya anda pasti sudah ada niat untuk mendapatkan duit dari Internet.

Masalahnya adalah banyak pemula seringkali bingung mau mulai bisnis Internet ini dari mana? Biasanya banyak dari pemula ini yang meragui apakah bisnis Internet adalah bisnis yang nyata atau hanya tipuan/scam.

Dan biasanya juga mereka yang menilai bisnis Internet adalah tipuan/scam adalah mreka yang belum/tidak mendapatkan hasil dari Internet Marketing.

Menurut Business Week, “64.2% of the businesses failed in a 10-year period”. Artinya 64.2% bisnis dalam periode 10 tahun gagal.

Bagimana dengan bisnis Internet Marketing? Saya juga tidak tahu angka yang pastinya, namun saya yakin sekali tingkat kegagalan seseorang yang baru saja mulai terjun di Internet Marketing lebih tinggi dan lebih cepat gagal.

Serakang pertanyaannya adalah mengapa para pemula Internet Marketing seringkali gagal?

Menurut saya, ada 3 sebab:

1. Mau hasil instant, mau yang gampang, tidak mau bekerja keras

Saya sudah sering mengatakan bahwa untuk mendapatkan hasil dari Internet Marketing maupun dari bisnis apapun, anda MUTLAK harus sabar, MUTLAK harus mengalami frustrasi dan kegagalan terlebih dahulu, MUTLAK harus bekerja keras, dan MUTLAK harus bekerja cerdas juga.

2. Cepat menyerah

Ketika mengalami kegagalan sementara, mereka langsung down dan tidak berdaya, lalu langsung menyerah.

Saya menggunakan kata “kegagalan sementara” karena sejujurnya memang itu, kegagalan sementara. Untuk mendapatkan hasil tentu anda harus gagal terlebih dahulu.

Mana ada pemula yang baru terjun di bisnis online langsung sukses tanpa gagal sekalipun!

Teman, saya mengatakan kepada anda sekali lagi: Tidak ada seorangpun yang menekuni suatu bidang, apapun bidang tsb, dan langsung mendapatkan hasil tanpa mengalamai kegegalan sementara.

Kalau anda sekarang sedang kerja di sebuah perusahaan dengan posisi supervisor, manager, atau direktur, coba ingat kembali apakah untuk mendapatkan posisis tsb gampang? Apakah proses mendapatkan posisi tsb selalu mulus terus tanpa ada rintangan apapun?

Tentu jawabannya tidak! Kalau mendapatkan posisi tsb gampang semua orang sudah menjadi manager dan direktur dong.

3. Bingung mau mulai dari mana

Jangankan orang pemula, saya saja sampai saat ini masih mengalami information overload.

Apa itu information overload? Information overload artinya informasi yang anda peroleh terhadap sesuatu saking banyaknya sampai akhirnya anda bingung mau mulai dari mana.

Kalau dalam Internet Marketing, seringkali kita mendapatkan informasi bahwa untuk mendapatkan duit dari Internet anda harus belajar bagaimana mencipatakan produk sendiri untuk jual kepada orang lain, bagaimana menggunakan Google Adwords untuk mendatangkan traffic, bagaimana menggunakan social bookmarking dan social networking untuk meningkatkan traffic, bagaimana JV (kerjasama) dengan para Internet Marketer lainnya, bagaimana melakukan on-page atau off-page SEO yang benar untuk mendapatkan traffic dari Google, bagaimana menulis artikel untuk mendapatkan pengunjung, dll.

Kelihatannya Kenyataannya banyak sekali yang harus dikerjakan, dan akhirnya karena bingung mau mulai dari mana, kita ngomong ke diri sendiri: “ah entar aja deh gue coba pelajari lagi, pusing pala gue…”

Dan akhirnya you know dong apa yang akan terjadi?

Ya, tidak akan terjadi apa-apa karena tidak ada ACTION. Selamat kepada kita semua :)

Ketika anda bingung mau mulai dari mana, pahami posisi anda sekarang terlebih dahulu. Anda sekarang berada di mana?

Kalau anda adalah seorang pemula di Internet Marketing, tentunya untuk saat ini anda tidak perlu pelajari bagaimana JV (kerjasama) dengan para Internet Marketer lainnya, karena sudah *hampir* pasti penawaran anda kepada mereka akan ditolak.

Kecuali penawaran anda begitu dahsyat dan menarik, kalau tidak jangan harap mereka mau bekerja sama dengan anda. Coba saja anda memposisikan diri anda sebagai pakar di Internet Marketing, lalu ada newbie yang datang menawarkan kerjasama dengan anda. Kira-kira anda mau terima penawaran tsb?

Intinya adalah, anda harus menyadari diri anda ada dimana saat ini. Yang tidak perlu anda pelajari saat ini, ya di skip saja untuk saat ini. Fokus kepada ilmu dan pekerjaan yang bisa menghasilkan paling banyak untuk anda saat ini.

Tahukah anda tidak semua ilmu dan pekerjaan mempunyai kepentingan yang sama. Ada yang lebih penting, ada juga yang kurang penting, dan ini tergantung kepada posisi anda saat ini.

Pernah dengan Hukum Pareto? Dikutip dari Wikipedia:

“The Pareto principle (also known as the 80-20 rule, the law of the vital few and the principle of factor sparsity) states that, for many events, 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes.”

Artinya 20% pekerjaan akan menghasilkan 80% penghasilan.

Sebaliknya pun sama, 80% pekerjaan akan menghasilkan 20% penghasilan.

Tugas anda dan saya tentunya adalah menentukan 20% perkejaan yang menghasilkan 80% penghasilan.

Jadi kuncinya adalah FOKUS kepada tugas dan pekerjaan anda yang paling penting saat ini.

Jadi tips untuk anda hari ini adalah:

1. Siap bekerja keras dan cerdas, sabar, dan menyaradi bahwa mendapatkan hasil dari Internet Marketing adalah sebuah proses yang sulit dan panjang :wink:

2. Kuatkan mental anda dan yakinkan kepda diri sendiri bahwa anda MUTLAK HARUS mengalami kegagalan sementara, dan maju terus :mrgreen:

3. FOKUS kepada 20% pekerjaan anda yang menghasilkan 80% penghasilan anda. Yang tidak anda perlu pelajari saat ini diabaikan saja :grin:

Rangking Nomor 1 Di Google?

Untuk sukses mendapatkan uang lewat Internet, apapun topik/niche yang anda tekuni, anda HARUS mempunyai pengunjung yang datang ke situs anda.

Tidak ada pengunjung = Tidak ada uang! :cool:
Dalam dunia Internet, pengunjung juga dikenal dengan namanya “traffic”.

Anda boleh mempunyai website yang paling menarik di dunia, dan anda boleh memiliki produk atau jasa yang paling hebat dan canggih di dunia, tapi apabila website anda tidak ada traffic, maka anda tidak akan mendapatkan sepeser uang pun!

Mengapa?

Karena tidak ada yang tahu ttg produk atau jasa yang anda tawarkan. Kalau tidak ada yang tahu, bagaimana orang mau membelinya?

Ada beberapa cara untuk mendapatkan traffic ke website anda, antara lain:

- SEO (search engine optimization)

- PPC (pay per click)

- Article Marketing

- Forum Marketing

- Social Bookmarking

- Social Networking

- Affiliates (apabila anda mempunyai produk sendiri)

- dll

Hari ini kita hanya akan bahas yang pertama, yaitu SEO (Search Engine Optimization).

Apa itu SEO?

SEO adalah sebuah teknik untuk meningkatkan posisi website anda di halaman pencarian search engine seperti Google, Yahoo, dan Live (MSN). Semua pemilik website ingin website mereka tampil di halaman utama search engine ketika ada orang yang mengetik kata kunci yang mereka targetkan.

Karena dengan tampil di halaman utama, kemungkinan website anda diklik orang lebih tinggi dibanding apabila website anda tampil di halaman kedua, ketiga, dst.

Biasanya orang yang mencari informasi di search engine hanya “browsing” paling halaman pertama sampai halaman ke-tiga atau ke-empat, dan jika ia tidak menemukan apa yang sedang ia cari, maka ia akan kembali ke search engine tsb dan mengetik kata kunci (keywords) yang berbeda tapi berhubungan.

Contoh:

Anda mau beli mobil bekas, dan anda pergi ke Google untuk mencari informasi dimana anda bisa membeli mobil bekas.

Anda ketik kata kunci “mobil bekas”. Tapi setelah sampai halaman ke 4, anda masih belum menemukan apa yang anda sedang cari.

Anda kembali ke Google dan kali ini anda menggunakan kata kunci “mobil bekas di jakarta”.

Kata kunci yang anda pilih berbeda tetapi berhubungan.

Jika anda pergi ke Google.com dan mengetik “bisnis di internet”, pada saat ini ditulis, blog ini berada di posisi nomor 1.

1.JPG

Jika anda pergi ke Google.co.id dan mengetik “bisnis di internet”, pada saat ini ditulis, blog ini berada di posisi nomor 12 (berarti di halaman ke-dua).

2.JPG

Mau contoh lagi?

Jika anda pergi ke Google.com dan mengetik “uang internet”, pada saat ini ditulis, website saya “1 Juta Rupiah Pertama Anda Lewat Internet” berada di posisi 2.

3.JPG

Jika anda pergi ke Google.co.id dan mengetik “uang internet”, pada saat ini ditulis, website saya “1 Juta Rupiah Pertama Anda Lewat Internet” berada di posisi 8.

4.JPG

Karena posisi blog saya di Google.com dengan kata kunci “bisnis di internet” berada di nomor 1, Google setiap hari memberikan saya traffic gratis ketika ada orang yang mengetik kata kunci tsb, walaupun jumlahnya tidak banyak.

Kebanyakan yang datang dari Google ke blog saya ini justru dari puluhan kombinasi kata kunci yang berbeda, salah satu yang terbanyak tentunya dengan kata kunci “bisnis di internet”.

Bagaimana saya bisa mencapai posisi nomor 1 di Google.com?

Apakah saya expert di bidang SEO? Sama sekali tidak! Malah kalau mau jujur kata, masih banyak hal yang saya tidak mengerti tentang SEO :mrgreen:

Anyway, saya hanya melakukan 2 hal untuk mencapai posisi nomor 1:

1.

Saya mencari sebanyak-banyaknya one way back link dari website/blog lain ke blog saya dengan anchor text “bisnis di internet”.

One way back link artinya website/blog tsb link ke saya, tapi saya tidak link ke mereka.

Anchor text “bisnis di internet” artinya ketika website/blog tsb link ke saya, mereka menggunakan link text “bisnis di internet”.

Sekarang pertanyaannya adalah bagaimana orang lain mau link ke saya tetapi saya tidak link back ke mereka?

Yang pertama, berikanlah content yang bermanfaat dan berguna dan orang lain akan mau link ke anda secara otomatis tanpa anda harus “mengemis” kepada mereka.

Yang kedua, saya menggunakan jasa SEO Jonathan Leger. Kalau anda belum tahu siapa itu Jonathan Leger, saya sangat menyarankan anda belajar juga sama beliau, karena Jonathan adalah mentor dan guru saya yang sangat sangat luar biasa :)

2.

Saya memberikan komentar di blog orang lain dengan menggunakan “bisnis di internet” sebagai nama saya.

Hah? Sebagai nama?

Ya, kalau anda memberikan komentar di blog, biasanya kan harus isi:

Nama
Email
Website URL
Komentar anda

Untuk bagian Nama, saya mengisi “bisnis di internet”. Apabila komentar saya di approve oleh sang pemilik blog, maka website saya akan mempunyai anchor text (atau link text) “bisnis di internet”.

Namun anda harus hati-hati dengan cara ini.

Dengan menulis “bisnis di internet” sebagai nama saya, kemungkinan komentar saya diapprove lebih kecil di banding jika saya menulis “Welly” sebagai nama saya.

Mengapa?

Karena sang pemilik blog tahu saya memberikan komentar karena ada maksud lainnya, yaitu mendapatkan back link, dan bukan karena saya benar benar ingin memberikan komentar.

Kalau saya menulis “Welly” sebagai nama saya, kan lebih tidak mencolok :P

Namun tidak semua pemilik blog tahu mengenai teknik back link ini. Biasanya yang tahu adalah para Internet Marketer.

Jadi satu tip untuk anda jika anda mau menggunakan metode ini adalah memberi komentar di blog yang bukan di bidang Internet Marketing.

Satu hal lagi yang sangat penting yang harus anda perhatikan adalah: JANGAN pernah memberi komentar Spam atau komentar yang tidak bermanfaat atau komentar yang tidak ada hubungannya dengan topik yang sedang di bahas. Berikanlah komentar yang berbobot dan bermanfaat dan berhubungan dengan topik yang sedang dibahas.

Mengapa demikian?

Karena sang pemilik blog bukan orang bodoh. Apabila anda hanya sekedar memberikan komentar yang asal-asalan hanya demi mendapatkan back link ke website/blog anda, kemungkinan besar komentar anda sudah hampir pasti tidak akan di approve.

Ok semoga bermanfaat untuk anda :mrgreen:

4 Alasan Mengapa Anda Perlu Meng-track Pengunjung Anda

Jika anda perhatikan, jumlah blog dan website yang mempunyai content yang bagus dan pembaca yang banyak tidaklah sedikit.

Namun tidak semua blog dan website tsb men-track pengunjung mereka.

Apa maksudnya?

Men-track pengunjung artinya mencari tahu informasi dan data seperti:

1. Bagaimana pengunjung menemukan blog/website anda
2. Berapa banyak pengunjung yang datang ke blog/website anda setiap hari
3. Berapa lama mereka browsing di blog/website anda
4. Halaman mana saja yang mereka kunjungi ketika ada di blog/website anda

Apabila anda tidak men-track pengunjung anda, maka anda tidak akan tahu SEMUA informasi diatas.

Mari kita bahas satu per satu.

1. Bagaimana pengunjung menemukan blog/website anda

Informasi ini penting sekali karena apabila anda sudah tahu kebanyakan pengunjung anda datang dari satu atau dua sumber saja, maka anda bisa fokus tenaga dan waktu anda di sumber tsb.

Contoh: Setelah penelitian, ternyata pengunjung yang datang ke website anda banyak datang dari Google dengan kata kunci (keywords) tertentu, dan jarang sekali mereka datang dari iklan yang anda pasang di website x.

Artinya, anda bisa lebih fokus tenaga dan waktu anda meng-optimize untuk kata kunci (keywords) tsb. Meng-optimize artinya anda melakukan tindakan sehingga dengan kata kunci tsb, website/blog anda tampil di halaman pertama hasil pencarian Google (Google search results).

2. Berapa banyak pengunjung yang datang ke blog/website anda setiap hari

Data ini juga sangat penting untuk anda sebagai pemilik website, karena dengan mengetahui jumlah pengunjung yang datang ke blog/website anda, anda mempunyai gambaran seberapa populer/ramai blog/website anda.

Seperti ada pepatah yang mengatakan, untuk bisa maju terus anda harus tahu posisi/kondisi anda sekarang.

3. Berapa lama mereka browsing di blog/website anda

Semakin lama seseorang browsing di tempat anda, maka semakin bagus content yang ada di dalamanya. Tentunya satu orang yang browsing lama di blog/website anda belum tentu berarti bahwa blog/website anda mempunyai content yang bagus.

Anda perlu mendapatkan lebih banyak pengunjung yang browsing lama di tempat anda untuk memastikan bahwa anda mempunyai content yang bagus.

Apabila banyak pengunjung browsing lama di tempat anda, kemungkinan besar anda mempunyai content yang bagus dan bermanfaat.

Sebaliknya juga sama. Jika banyak pengunjung anda ternyata hanya stay sebentar di tempat anda, maka bisa dipastikan pula content anda tidak menarik.

4. Halaman apa saja yang mereka kunjungi ketika ada di blog/website anda

Andainya anda tahu halaman mana saja yang sering dikunjungi pengunjung ketika mereka ada di blog/website anda, maka anda akan tahu topik apa saja yang mereka paling minati.

Contoh: Topik seperti “dapet duit dari Google Adsense” mungkin lebih menarik dari pada topik “dapet duit dari typist job”.

Well, you get the idea :)

Ketika anda mengetahui informasi ini, anda bisa membikin lebih banyak artikel/content yang berhubungan dengan “dapet duit dari Google Adsense”.

Dengan men-track blog/website anda dan mengetahui pengunjung anda datang dari mana saja, seberapa banyak jumlah pengunjung yang datang hari ini, berapa lama mereka browsing di blog/website anda, serta halaman apa saja yang mereka kunjungi, anda dapat perlahan-lahan meng-improve blog/website anda.

Bayangkan setelah beberapa bulan blog/website anda mengalami kemajuan dari segi traffic dan content.

Apa artinya semua ini? Ya, tentunya $$$ :)

Satu tool yang saya sendiri pakai dan sangat merekomendasikan adalah Google Analytics. Tool satu ini gratis dan anda tidak perlu membayar satu peser pun.

Segera dapatkan tool ini sekarang juga dan mulailah men-track pengunjung anda untuk raih keuntungan yang maksimal!

Money Blogging Atau Personal Blogging?

Di zaman sekarang, sudah banyak orang yang mempunyai blog sendiri. Jenis blog yang beredar juga berbagai macam, dari blog para ABG yang sekedar mau gaya dan having fun sama temen2nya, blog yang membahas ttg musik, ttg anime, ttg mobil, ttg handphone, ttg makanan, dst.

Semua jenis blog seperti yang disebutkan diatas secara umum bisa di categorikan dalam 2 tipe blog:

- Yang pertama adalah Personal Blogging, atau dengan kata lain blogging untuk sekedar fun, sharing informasi, memberi pendapat dan opini terhadap suatu topik tanpa mengharap mendapatkan uang.

- Yang kedua adalah Money Blogging, atau dengan kata lain blogging yang bisa mendapatkan uang/profit.

Sekarang mari kita lihat ciri-ciri kedua tipe blog ini.

Personal Blogging biasanya menggunakan blogging platform yang gratis seperti Blogger.com dan Wordpress.com sehingga *Hampir*semuanya bener2 gratis. Tidak perlu beli domain, tidak perlu sewa hosting, yang perlu anda keluarkan hanya listrik komputer dan koneksi Internet anda.

Money Blogging pada umumnya menggunakan blogging platform seperti Wordpress.org (beda dengan Wordpress.com) dimana kita harus mengeluarkan duit untuk membeli domain dan sewa hosting. Ada juga sih yang menggunakan blogging platform gratis seperti Blogger.com.

Yang manakah anda?

Atau anda belum punya blog?

Banyak orang masih tidak tahu bahwa nge-blog bisa mendapatkan duit. Coba mereka tahu, kira2 mau ga ya mereka berpindah dari Personal Blogging ke Money Blogging? :P

Contoh yang nyata adalah teman saya. Sebut saja A. Ketika saya menjelaskan kepada A blogging itu bisa menghasilkan duit, ia bingung dan tidak percaya.

Ia bilang “Masa sih? Bukannya nge-blog itu cuma sekedar having fun dan menceritakan apa saja yang ingin kita ceritakan?”

Saya jawab “Betul, hanya saja orang2 seperti ini tidak ‘me-monetize’ blog mereka supaya bisa dapat uang. Mereka hanya doing it for fun, dan tidak dibayar.”

‘Me-monetize’ blog anda artinya mendapatkan uang dari blog anda. Kata ‘Monetize’ berasal dari kata ‘Money’.

Jadi, apabila anda sudah punya blog tapi hanya masih dalam tahap Personal Blogging, mengapa tidak dirubah menjadi Money Blogging sehingga anda bisa mendapatkan duit dari blog anda?

Anda tetap akan melakukan posting dan update blog anda seperti biasa, hanya saja dengan modifikasi area (space) tertentu di blog anda, anda bisa ‘me-monetize’ blog anda.

Salah satu cara yang paling gampang adalah dengan memasang iklan Google Adsense (apabila blog anda dalam bahasa Inggris), sehingga setiap kali pengunjung klik iklan Adsense anda, anda dibayar oleh Google.

Apabila blog anda dalam Bahasa Indonesia, anda bisa memasang iklan KlikSaya atau KumpulBlogger untuk mendapatkan uang.

Mendapatkan duit dari iklan hanyalah salah satu cara mendapatkan duit lewat blog, masih ada cara lain yang akan kita bahas di artikel-artikel selanjutnya.

Apabila anda masih belum mempunyai blog sampai saat ini, mengapa belum punya? Lumayan lho dapet duit dengan nge-blog….hehehe

Untuk membuat sebuah blog cukup sederhana dan simpel. Anda hanya perlu mengetik content anda lalu klik ‘publish’ dan posting pun akan muncul seketika. Jauh lebih gampang dari pada menggunakan Frontpage atau Dreamweaver untuk membuat website anda.

Pada awalnya ketika blog anda baru lahir, tentunya akan kesulitan mendapatkan pengunjung. Tidak apa2, terus menulis dan memberikan content yang bermanfaat di blog anda secara konsisten!

Jadi anda termasuk yang mana? Money Blogging atau Personal Blogging?

Rabu, 02 Juli 2008

How To Increase Traffic To My Site?

This article is for those who are already into Adsense or any other similar advertising program. Or if you own a site or blog and just want to increase the no of visitors on your site or you to promote your site for some social services then you should seriously consider some traffic programs.Interested read on else chect out some other topic that may be of your use.
What are traffic programs?

These are sites that provide visits to your site. It happens when their registered members browse through the direstory of sites listed in the sites. In some cases the members get visitors to their site when they visit some site on the traffic program site.to explain a lil further. Consider you and me are members of a particular traffic program. You have a site listed in this program and I have one too. As members we are required to browse sites and earn points. So you brose my site in do yours to earn some points. These points may be encashed or converted into visits to your site. I hope I have cleared this concept. Lets move to the next question.
Will it adversely affect my sites or Adsense Account?

No. This will not affect your sites reputaion or hamper your advertising programs. Many people ask me " Will My adsense account get banned for using traffic sites?" I have always told them that its only going to help you. I have personally used and still using more than 5 traffic programs and I have been in adsense for two years without ever getiing banned. So take my word for it that these systems are only going to benifit you. To he next question now.

ow will traffic programs help me?

If you are using any advertising platform like Google Adsense, Yahoo Publisher, Adbrite, Adster, Bidvertiser, Adds for Indians etc then you must be aware of a term called CTR (click through rates). For those who are new to this term CTR is the ratio of the number of add clicks on your site to the number of page views on your site. If your CTR is high that is if you are not getting enough visitors to your site then you are going to be a black site or not prefered site for advertisers. The CTR of popular sites is below 1. Yes you read it right. Below 1. If you think yours is too high then its high time you considered one of the traffic prgrams given at the end of this page.
There is one more concept I think you will know. Its page popularity. The two major page ranking sites are Google with GPR and Alexa with Alexa Site Rank. These site set standard that show how popular a site in on the world wide web. One of the most important factors is how many links on different other site are pointing to your site. In short how much traffic you get from from other sites. This is where the traffic programs will help you.
Third and the most obvious fact. When your visitors increase then your revenue from the adds will increase too. I dont think I need to elaborate this point. You are smart enough to digest this.

How much can you earn?

Let's say you have a goal of earning $100,000 a year from AdSense. Is that possible?

Let's see ... $100,000 divided by 365 = $274 a day. So your goal is to produce either:

274 pages which earn $1 a day
OR
548 pages which earn 50 cents a day
OR
1096 pages which earn 25 cents a day

The following are hypothetical cases. To earn $1 a day per page, you need, per page...

400 visitors, 5% click-through rate (CTR) and average 5c payout.
Or 200 visitors, 10% CTR and an average 5c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 10% CTR, and an average 10c payout.
Or 100 visitors, 5% CTR, and an average 20c payout.
Or 50 visitors, 10% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 25 visitors, 20% CTR and 20c average payout.
Or 20 visitors, 10% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 10 visitors, 20% CTR and 50c average payout.
Or 5 visitors, 20% CTR and $1 average payout.

Let's assume you choose a goal somewhere around the middle, say aiming for 50 visitors per page and want 274 pages earning $1 a day. You'd need 274 x 50 = 13,700 pageviews a day.

Does that sound too tough? If so, you'd better look for more profitable keywords and ways to improve your click-through rates.

Let's try a different scenario. You choose more profitable keywords and make your $1 on average per page from, say, 10 visitors. 274 x 10 = 2740 pageviews a day.

That's looking easier to achieve. If your average visitor sees 3 pages, you now need 913 unique visitors a day.

Is that too tough to achieve in your niche? If so, create two sites, each attracting half that number, 456 unique visitors, a day.

Can't achieve those click-through rates and payouts? Then you'll either need more pages on your sites on more niche sites.

Some affiliates have a goal of writing one article a day and building one site a month.

Need a little more help reaching that $100,000 goal? Add affiliate commissions into the equation. Add a newsletter for repeat sales.

Choose the goal which best matches your site or sites.

Then start building keyword-rich pages containing well researched, profitable keywords, and get lots of high quality links to your site.

Please note, because of the AdSense rules, these are all hypothetical cases. I'm not allowed to give real cases. Real CTR rates and payouts vary hugely.


It's fast

Google usually approves web sites in less than a day.

After your site is approved, within a few hours a special Google spider will spider your site. Then it's time to paste the code into your site and the text ads will appear.

You can choose between either horizontal or skyscraper AdSense ads.

Adsense Tips for Bloggers 1

How do you make money from the Google Adsense Program? What AdSense Tips can you share with us?

I have been asked this question so many times in the past few weeks that I thought I should write something on the topic. It seems increasingly bloggers want to try to cover their hosting and ISP costs with some revenue from their blog - and increasingly they’re doing it and are able to make a few (or quite a lot) dollars on the side. Many are turning to Google’s Adsense program.

Covering costs of my Digital Photography Blog is why I originally signed up with Google Adsense - blogging can get expensive when you have high levels of traffic and a lot of pages.

Whilst the agreement you sign with Google stresses that you are not allowed to give specific information about your earnings from the program I can say that I’m glad I’ve signed up because its well and truly covered my costs - and then some. In fact I think its quite feasible to expect that Adsense coupled with other strategies for making money from Blogging could quite easily generate a decent living. It takes time and hard work, but I think its very doable. (Update: Since writing this series I’ve revealed that I am now looking at making over a six figure income this year in 2005 from blogging).

So how do I make money from Google Adsense? Let me share some AdSense Tips that heve helped me.

This will be the first in a series of posts on this topic. Let me say up front I’m no expert - there are a lot of people out there making a lot more money than I am using Adsense - however most of them are not telling their secrets - well not for free anyway. I’ve got no secrets to hide and am willing to share what I’ve learnt since I signed up for the program 8 months ago. If you want a REAL expert’s opinion on Adsense I’d recommend buying Joel Comm’s What Google Never Told You About Making Money with Adsense E-Book. Joel earns $15,000 per month from Adsense and has some good things to share.

I know some bloggers are put off or offended by the idea of making money from blogging so I’ll try not to let these posts dominate my blog - however if you are not interested in the topic, simply skip over these posts.

I am going to assume a few things in this series to cut down the amount of introductory comments I have to make. Here is what I am assuming:

* You have a blog. Whilst most of the following tips will apply to other types of websites I run Adsense on blogs and will speak from that experience.
* You have (or will) read a basic overview of Adsense and have some understanding of what it is.
* You have(or will) read the program policies as outlined by Google. These give details of site eligibility, ad placements and other requirements for using the system.

10 Easy Ways to Cheat Google Adsense (and get your AdSense account disabled)

Face it. You come to this article probably thinking to find some ways to cheat Google, or to confirm whether some method you have on mind will work. Well, if you want to know how to cheat AdSense, here are the ways, focusing on the AdSense click-frauds. These covers from basic AdSense cheating techniques to the advanced class.

But before you proceed, you might need to know why you shouldn’t cheat Google (answer: you will get caught).

1.Basic clicker cheat

This is a noob. This guy knows almost nothing about web technology or network architecture. He clicks on his ads every time he has chance. It can be a few clicks to hundreds of clicks daily. Most likely he doesn’t even read the AdSense Program Policies and Terms and Conditions.

2.Proxy clicker cheat

She knows a thing or two about cookies and IP address. Or she doesn’t know, but somehow guessed that if she use the things called anonymizer, Google will not be able to trace her, because her identity is hidden. She may use anonymizer / proxy websites or specialized anonymous software like tor (The Onion Router).

3.Multiple computer clicker cheat

He knows that somehow Google will detect if the clicks are originated from his own computer. So he will try to even out origin of the clicks. He will recruit his friends, family members, relatives, neighbors, his cats, and his dogs on single mission: to click on the ads. He will also click on the AdSense ads when he is using the library computers, or his office workstation.

4.Software clicker cheat

Graduate to the next step is buyers of clickbots / click-bots. These are specialized robot software to click on AdSense ads. It will browse around your websites, clicking on the ads every few minutes. The more advanced ones will cloak the IP address too, so the website seems to be very popular worldwide. To cover the track, this clickbots will browse around the advertisers sites too while continuing its “click quest”.

5.Paid-clickers cheat

If you don’t like automated things, there is always other option for you. Just pay $50 dollars a month to the professional AdSense clickers. These are groups of highly specialized Internet surfers with office in the dark rooms in street corners of India, Pakistan, and China, helping AdSense account owner to earn good amounts of money � before the AdSense account is disabled, that is. They will browse around your websites, clicking on the ads every few minutes. Because they use human eyes, they know which ads worth more. And to be more convincing they can click a link or two, or sign up free offers / newsletters on the advertiser sites.

6.Click-rings cheat

Network is power. So says many business gurus. Instead of taking things to their own hand, this people realize that they can join hands with those with similar goals and distribute AdSense clicks among themselves, the so called AdSense click-rings. Joining this click-ring network means that your website address will be made known to members, who will regularly browse the website and click on your AdSense ads. In exchange, you will also browse other members’ sites and click on their AdSense ads. The medium used varies. Some click-ring groups use mail-list for communications. Some are using bulletin boards/forum, Yahoo groups, or Usenet. IRC is another popular way. Slightly more complicated is specialized AdSense exchange software for collecting members website address and displaying others’ websites for clicking.

7.Other medium cheat

I have tens of thousands email address on my newsletter subscriber list. If I include AdSense ads on my newsletters, with 5% CTR, I can get a thousand clicks per one email. Not bad. Or I can pay someone to write some useful/nice/funny/cute toolbars or firefox extensions or screensavers that people can download and use for free, and display my AdSense ads there.

8.Visitor cheat

Simply putting “Visit out sponsors” or “Check out the ads above” on your website is cheating. This might not be very clear-cut cheat to some. But Google AdSense program policies has stated clearly, the only text allowed are “Advertisements” or “Sponsored List”

9.Spam cheat

This is the highest level all click-frauds, the Maestro of Fraudsters. She spams millions of emails regularly, offering to “satisfy your inner needs if you can help me check on the links on my website”. Of course, email is not the only way. What IRC and instant messaging (IM) are for, after all. She will look for unsuspecting victims, offering something too-good-to-be-true “if only they will visit the website and click on the links”.

10.Click-through-rate cheat

Whichever method(s) above used, there is one limiting condition: the CTR(click-though-rate). Any CTR that exceeds certain percentage (probably around 10%) will raise red flag in Google AdSense back room. To lower the CTR, the professional cheaters will create some pages on the same domain that attracts very high traffic. Some interesting freebies will sure do the tricks. AdSense code is pasted there, thus creating a very high page impressions. Whether or not the the ads are clicked does not matter anyway, because they are targeting low paying keyword that does not have much competition. The fake clicks are, of course, on where the big money is, the low traffic pages stuffed with high-paying keywords.

Disclaimer: I don’t say and don’t think that these methods will work. If you even need to read this article, there’s 99.999% chance you will get caught before you can even get your first paycheck. Your AdSense account will be disabled, and you get banned from ever applying for AdSense account again.